Cats in the cradle and the silver spoon…

Dinner tonight was Kabobs at the VFW.  We had a lovely time.  A local fisher man caught a Cobia (large saltwater fish) and donated it to the VFW.  So we had for dinner fish and steak Kabobs at the VFW.  Very good! 

I try not to eat pork or beef, so I gave my steak kabob to one of the guys to eat.  I was trying to be a vegan for a while.  But I fell off the wagon – with all  the stress my son was putting me through.  When the time is right I’ll give the Vegan thing another shot. 

We pumped up the Juke box with our favorite songs; like “Sweet Home Alabama” (Lynrd Skynrd), “My kind of Town” (Sinatra), “Does anyone Know what time it is?” (Chicago), “Crazy” by Patsy Kline, “Miss you” (Rolling Stones), Fly me to the Moon (Sinatra) and many more of our favorite tunes.   This lasted at least an hour or so.  We sat around and chatted for a long while.  Dad enjoyed the camaraderie. 

After wards, some of us went off to another drinking establishment.  Dad, myself and DS headed home, with a pit stop at Dairy Queen.    Dad asked several times if we had gotten Mom a treat to bring home with us.  Yes, Dad.  Good – What did you get Mom?  A hot fudge sunday.  Oh, Good, good; Mom will like that.  DS looked at me nervously.  Again, Dad asked and I responded in the same matter.  Hoping this wouldn’t backfire on us in the end.  We arrive home.  And Dad was off to his room and was asleep in no time. 

Fortunately the conversation about Mom came to an end and we didn’t need to address the fact that Mom had already passed on to a better place.   Big sigh of relief!

The next day I heard the Harry Chapin Song today “Cats in the Cradle”.  I can remember hearing this song when I was just a little girl riding in the backseat of my parent’s car.  And at that time I wondered what it was all about.  In my innocence I asked my daddy to explain the song to me.  My dad said it was about growing up and doing the same thing that your parents did when you were older.  I remember feeling sorry for the Father in Harry Chapin’s song.  

Now looking back, and having lost the innocence of my youth.  I think on how prosperity in this country has changed the people of this country.   And how we can be challenged as families to recognize how we can help each other when it counts most.  

The irony of the song and life itself.   We’ve drifted so far apart and our lives have become so separate from our core families and beliefs.  I count myself in this crowd.  When my DS was shouting for help.  It was hard for me to see the forest for the trees.  It was only after a series of unfortunate events that I saw a path open up allowing me to move closer to my family.

My point being, if I knew what I know now I would have moved even more quickly than I did.  I see a lot of positives with my move here to Florida.  I think it has been good for my Dad and DS and DBL agree it has be helpful to them.    Most importantly I’m enjoying being here.

(Verse 3)
Well he came from college
just the other day,
So much like a man I just had to say
Son I’m proud of you, can ya sit for a while?
He shook his head, and he said with a smile
What Id really like Dad, is to borrow the car keys 
.
See ya later, can I have them please?

(Chorus)
And the cats in the cradle and the silver spoon,
Little Boy Blue and The Man In The Moon.
When ya comin home son?
I don’t know when, well get together then, Dad,
ya know well have a good time then.  

 

 

 

 

 (Verse 4)
Well Ive long since retired, my sons moved away,
I called him up just the other day.
I said Id like to see you, if you don’t mind.
He said I’d  Love to, Dad, if I could find the time
You see, my new job’s a hassle, and the kid’s got the flu,
But it’s sure nice talking to you, Dad.
It’s been sure nice talking to You.”
And as I hung up the phone, it occurred to Me,
He’d grown up just like me,
My boy was just like me. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment